Lair

Mountainlair

Thursday, December 12, 2019

 8 a.m. Registration Scholar's Lounge
 8 a.m. Continental Breakfast Ballrooms
 8:30 a.m. Welcome and Opening Remarks
Corey Farris, Dean of Students


Ballrooms


Please find session descriptions and schedule details below:

 8:50 a.m. - 9:35 a.m.  Concurrent Session 1
    

Marjorie Fuller | Director of Center for Black Culture & Research 
marjorie.fuller@mail.wvu.edu  

Film collaboration between the Center for Black Culture and Research and WVU academic departments, faculty discuss pedagogical and programmatic methods they have used to successfully create a more inclusive classroom environment for their students. The four-film series begins with the Philosophy Department.  

 

Amanda Debastiani | Executive Director of Strategic Programs and Planning              Barbara Mullinix | Program Director of Learning Advising and Student Success 
amanda.debastiani@mail.wvu.edu | barbara.mullinix@mail.wvu.edu

Capabilities of the system and how we could potentially utilize the system within Student Life. Are there some missed opportunities to collaborate on some retention efforts? 

Dr. Matthew Richardson | Director of Office of Fraternity and Sorority Life matthew.richardson3@mail.wvu.edu 

In 2019, the Office of Fraternity and Sorority Life required each of its current and incoming students to complete two personalized online education modules surrounding the problem of hazing prevention. This program will detail the goals of the education, identify how it was implemented and share key results in a data-driven format.

 9:50 a.m. - 10:35 a.m.  Concurrent Session 2
    

Shannon Arbogast | Program Coordinator, Outdoor Education Center  shannon.dey@mail.wvu.edu 

Give your brain a break and join the Adventure WV crew for a session of our most fun games and engaging activities! Come prepared to laugh, play and enjoy some carefree time with your fellow Student Life colleagues. No experience needed, all skill levels welcome. We’ll also provide handouts of the activities so that  you can add them to your tool box for student groups, work events or just to bring a little fun into your office. Come play with us!

 

Student Panel moderated by Professor Bob Britten, WVU Reed College Media 
bob.britten@mail.wvu.edu

We’ve gathered a panel of outspoken students who will blow holes in our assumptions of what they think and want from us. Be prepared to be surprised. 

Dr. Kristi Wood Turner | Director of WVU Center for Service and Learning Life kwood@wvu.edu  

This workshop will explore the general understanding of assessment in Student Life. Referencing the GPS traffic app WAZE to help frame the journey of assessment, we will review the destination and detailed directions to get to that destination. We will discuss why we want to go in the first place, as the obstacles, warnings and fastest routes to reach your assessment goals. Attendees will leave with templates and an understanding of outputs and outcomes as assessment measures.

 10:35 a.m. - 10:50 a.m.    Coffee Break   Scholar's Lounge
 10:50 a.m. - 11:35 a.m.  Concurrent Session 3
    

Wes Thomas | Program Coordinator WELLWVU  
wthomas2@mail.wvu.edu 

This session will detail the current state of cannabis education efforts at WVU and schools across the country, as well as exploring the often misunderstood risks associated with cannabis misuse. The HERBan Developments: 420 Q and A Panel that WELLWVU facilitated this past spring will be highlighted, including data from a survey conducted to gauge the opinions of more than 300 WVU students on issues related to cannabis. Lessons learned and future plans will also be discussed.

 

Steven Smith | Assistant Director of Student Conduct     
Carrie Showalter | Executive Director of Student Conduct              
Jill Gibson | Associate Director Student of Conduct 
steven.smith6@mail.wvu.edu | carrie.showalter@mail.wvu.edu | jgibson1@mail.wvu.edu 

The Student Conduct Office does so much more than purely deal with troublemakers. We teach, we guide, we mediate. This session will showcase the ways in which in which the disciplinary process can be educational and developmental.

     

Kevin Cimino, Harry Montoro & Michael Spooner | WVU General Counsel   kevin.cimino@mail.wvu.edu  

Overview of FOIA, FERPA and the Ethics Act

 11:30 a.m. - 1 p.m.      Lunch    Ballrooms
 1:15 p.m. - 2 p.m.  Concurrent Session 4
                                

Adell Crowe | Director of Student Media       
John Bolt | Executive Director University Relations Communications 
adell.crowe@mail.wvu.edu | jabolt@mail.wvu.edu   

There are a lot of aspiring journalists on our campus and chances are good that you are going to be interviewed at some point. The burden of being accurate and fair is on the journalists but there are things that you can do to ensure they get their facts straight and produce a balanced story.

 

Heidi Muller | Residence Life Specialist, Housing and Residence
Angela Delfine | Residence Life Specialist, Housing and Residence Life  heidi.muller@mail.wvu.edu | angela.delfine@mail.wvu.edu

This session will delve into the challenges a professional may face when working with an inherited student staff in a new professional role. Often many professionals are faced with challenges when working with a new group of students, yet this challenge is not often discussed in student affairs graduate programs. The speaker will share personal accounts of working with an inherited student staff and will provide some words of wisdom and tips for working with these students. The session will then delve into some tips for preparing a student staff for a new incoming supervisor when you are leaving a professional role. The session will wrap up with any questions regarding the topic that may not have been addressed.    


         

Dr. Thanh Le | Director of Student Engagement and Leadership
Jihad Dixon | Admissions Counselor, WVU Undergraduate Admissions
J. Spenser Darden | Director of Diversity Initiatives and Community Engagement 
thanh.le@mail.wvu.edu | jddixon@mail.wvu.edu | jdarden@mail.wvu.edu                    

With our increasingly diverse campus community comes a need to be more aware of – and attentive to – the experiences and perspectives our students bring. A part of that is understanding how language shapes and affects our students’ experience on campus. In this engaging session, participants will learn to think critically about word choice; understand how language can affect satisfaction, help seeking behaviors, and retention of students, and; be empowered to develop a vocabulary that is both authentic and inclusive.

 2:15 p.m. - 3 p.m. Plenary Session 1
“Working Together to Help Students in Distress”

Morgan Sharpless, Carruth Center Behavioral Health Therapist
morgan.sharpless@mail.wvu.edu

Allison Hayes, Campus and Community Life Team Case Manager
allison.hayes@mail.wvu.edu

T. Anne Hawkins, Carruth Center Clinical and Associate Director
TAHawkins@mail.wvu.edu

It’s real! If your perception is that there are more students presenting with mental health concerns, you are correct. All of us who are on the frontlines working with students need to be a team to help our students.

      Ballrooms
3 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.    Plenary Session 2
Academic Transformation: Creating the new land-grant “U”  

Maryanne Reed, WVU Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs       
maryanne.reed@mail.wvu.edu                           

Evan Widders, Associate Provost for Undergraduate Education
evan.widders@mail.wvu.edu

Joseph Seiaman, Executive Director of the Center for Learning, Advising and Student Success; Dean of Completion
joseph.seiaman@mail.wvu.edu

Azalea Hulbert, Director of Academic Integrity
azalea.hulbert@mail.wvu.edu

Provost Reed will discuss her priorities for the University and how Student Life can assist her in achieving them.  

      Ballrooms      
3:30 p.m. - 3:45 p.m  Closing Remarks and Recognitions
 Dean Corey Farris

    Ballrooms
 
4 p.m. - 5 p.m.   
Team Bowling     Games Area
Conclusion of Conference